University of Missouri-Columbia College of Veterinary Medicines

| Calendars | Contact | News & Events

Prospective StudentsCurrent StudentsAlumni and FriendsFaculty and StaffVeterinarians

About the College


Teaching & Research

Giving to Vet Med

Veterinary Health Center

Veterinary Medical Diagnostic Laboratory (VMDL)

CVM Employment

Zalk Veterinary Medical Library

CVM Course Materials




Students and Faculty Honored
During Annual Honors Banquet

Dr. Carol Reinero received the Pfizer Animal Health Award for Research Excellence from CVM Dean Dr. Neil Olson (left) and last year’s recipient, Dr. Craig Franklin.


Dr. Neil Olson, CVM dean (left), and last year’s Dadd Award winner, Dr. F.A. (Tony) Mann, presented the 2012 Dadd Award to Dr. Joanne Kramer.


The CVM Class of 2012 selected Dr. Tim Evans (center) as the recipient of the Pfizer Animal Health Distinguished Teacher Award. He received a plaque noting his achievement from CVM Dean Dr. Neil Olson and last year’s honoree, Dr. Alison LaCarrubba.

University of Missouri College of Veterinary Medicine students received more than $267,000 in awards during the 2012 Honors Banquet, held May 8 at the Holiday Inn Executive Center in Columbia. The annual event featured the presentation of nearly 200 awards, including scholastic acknowledgment, clinical proficiency, academic and activity recognition, and awards presented in memory of former students and beloved pets.

Professional veterinary medical students shared the evening’s spotlight with faculty members and house officers, and also presented awards to those mentors whose teaching and leadership have helped guide them through the veterinary curriculum.

Students in each academic class selected an outstanding teacher to receive 2012 Golden Aesculapius Awards. Winners were Dr. Cheryl Rosenfeld, honored by the Class of 2015; Dr. Lisa Britt, honored by the Class of 2014; Dr. Dusty Nagy, recognized by the Class of 2013; and Dr. Tim Evans, who was the honoree chosen by the graduating Class of 2012.

Other faculty members also received recognition. Dr. Carol Reinero, associate professor in the Department of Veterinary Medicine and Surgery and director of the Comparative Internal Medicine Laboratory, received the Pfizer Animal Health Award for Research Excellence. This year’s Dadd Award, which is given for excellence in veterinary medicine teaching by faculty peers, was presented to Dr. Joanne Kramer, an associate teaching professor in the Department of Veterinary Medicine and Surgery. The final award of the evening was the Pfizer Animal Health Distinguished Teacher Award. Each year, the graduating class selects as the recipient an outstanding teacher, who through ability, dedication, character and leadership, contributes to the advancement of the profession. The 2012 honoree was Dr. Tim Evans, an associate professor in Veterinary Pathobiology.

View the complete list of the 2012 awards presented and the recipients.

Return to News and Events home

College of Veterinary Medicine
W-203 Veterinary Medicine Building
Columbia, MO 65211
Phone: (573) 882-3554
Like us on Facebook
©2005 Curators of the University of Missouri
DMCA and other copyright information.
an equal opportunity/ADA institution

Last Update: February 29, 2012