University of Missouri-Columbia College of Veterinary Medicines

| Calendars | Contact | News & Events

Prospective StudentsCurrent StudentsAlumni and FriendsFaculty and StaffVeterinarians

About the College


Teaching & Research

Giving to Vet Med

Veterinary Health Center

Veterinary Medical Diagnostic Laboratory (VMDL)

CVM Employment

Zalk Veterinary Medical Library

CVM Course Materials




Students and Faculty Honored
During Annual Honors Banquet

Jeffrey Bryan, winner of the Zoetis Award for Veterinary Research Excellence, congratulates Meghan Harmon, recipient of the Zoetis Distinguished Veterinary Teacher Award, during the MU College of Veterinary Medicine 2016 Honors Banquet.
Fred Williams III (left) received the Dadd Award from CVM Dean Neil C. Olson (center) and last year’s recipient, William Fales.
CVM Associate Dean for Student Affairs Angela Tennison served as the emcee for the Honors Banquet.
Jeffrey Bryan (left) accepted the Zoetis Award for Veterinary Research Excellence from CVM Dean Neil C. Olson (center) and Kenton Morgan of Zoetis.
Meghan Harmon received a Golden Aesculapius Teaching Award and the Zoetis Distinguished Teaching Award, which was presented by (from left) CVM Dean Neil C. Olson, Kenton Morgan of Zoetis and last year’s winner Brian Frappier.

Nearly $300,000 was awarded May 10 during the MU College of Veterinary Medicine’s annual Honors Banquet. The event featured the presentation of more than 70 awards acknowledging veterinary students for their scholastic achievement, clinical proficiency, community service and leadership. In addition to student awards, house officers, faculty and staff were recognized.

Students in each academic class selected an outstanding teacher to receive 2016 Golden Aesculapius Teaching Awards. Winners were Cheryl Rosenfeld, DVM, PhD, honored by the Class of 2019; Marie Kerl, DVM, MPH, honored by the Class of 2018; Alison LaCarrubba, DVM, honored by the Class of 2017; and Meghan Harmon, DVM, who was the honoree chosen by the graduating Class of 2016.

Harmon, a clinical instructor in the Small Animal Emergency and Critical Care Service, was also named this year’s recipient of the Zoetis Distinguished Veterinary Teacher Award. Each year members of the graduating class select an outstanding teacher for the award, who, through ability, dedication, character and leadership, contributes to the advancement of the profession.

Zoetis also sponsored the Zoetis Award for Veterinary Research Excellence. Faculty members nominate the recipient of the award, which is presented to a faculty member or graduate student whose research related to veterinary medicine has promise of national recognition. This year’s winner was Jeffrey N. Bryan, DVM, MS, PhD, associate professor of oncology, and director of the Comparative Oncology and Epigenetics Laboratory and Scott Endowed Program in Veterinary Oncology.

The Dadd Award, which honors excellence in veterinary medicine teaching as judged by peers, was presented to Fred Williams III, DVM. Williams is an assistant clinical professor of special and systemic pathology.

Other teaching awards presented included the Student Chapter of the American Veterinary Medical Association (SCAVMA) Teaching Award for Basic Sciences, which is chosen by first- and second-year veterinary students, and the SCAVMA Teaching Award for Clinical Sciences, chosen by the third- and fourth-year classes. Cathleen Kovarik, DVM, PhD, associate teaching professor of neuroscience and large animal gross anatomy, received the teaching award for basic sciences. Derek Fox, DVM, PhD, associate professor of small animal orthopedic surgery, received the clinical sciences award.

The senior class also honored a veterinary technician who had an impact on their clinical experience. Kelsey Blodgett received this year’s Technician Award.

A number of awards were presented to students prior to the Honors Banquet. A complete list of awards and recipients can be found here.

Return to News and Events home

College of Veterinary Medicine
W-203 Veterinary Medicine Building
Columbia, MO 65211
Phone: (573) 882-3554
Like us on Facebook
©2005 Curators of the University of Missouri
DMCA and other copyright information.
an equal opportunity/ADA institution

Last Update: May 13, 2016