University of Missouri-Columbia College of Veterinary Medicines

| Calendars | Contact | News & Events

Prospective StudentsCurrent StudentsAlumni and FriendsFaculty and StaffVeterinarians

About the College


Teaching & Research

Giving to Vet Med

Veterinary Health Center

Veterinary Medical Diagnostic Laboratory (VMDL)

CVM Employment

Zalk Veterinary Medical Library

CVM Course Materials




Honors Banquet Sets
New Record

Brian Frappier (right) accepted the Zoetis Distinguished Veterinary Teaching Award from CVM Dean Neil C. Olson and Marnie Mellancamp, DVM, academic liaison for Zoetis.

Tony Mann, DVM, professor and director of Small Animal Emergency and Critical Care Services at the MU Veterinary Medical Teaching Hospital, presented the Technician Award to Kathleen Backus, DVM.

Ron Cott, DVM, associate dean of Student and Alumni Affairs and director of Advancement, served as the master of ceremonies for the 2015 Honors Banquet.

A record $325,000 was awarded May 12 during the MU College of Veterinary Medicine 2015 Honors Banquet. The annual event recognized the accomplishments of veterinary students, faculty, technicians, interns and residents. The event featured awards and scholarships to acknowledge student scholastic achievement, clinical proficiency, community service and leadership. The students in turn gave several awards to peers and mentors for teaching excellence and leadership.

Students in each academic class selected an outstanding teacher to receive 2015 Golden Aesculapius Teaching Awards. Winners were Associate Teaching Professor Brian Frappier, DVM, PhD, honored by the Class of 2018; Associate Clinical Professor Catherine Vogelweid, DVM, PhD, honored by the Class of 2017; Associate Teaching Professor Dusty Nagy, DVM, PhD,  recognized by the Class of 2016; and Assistant Clinical Professor Fred Williams, DVM, who was the honoree chosen by the graduating Class of 2015.

CVM Dean Neil C. Olson presented two awards sponsored by Zoetis to faculty. The Zoetis Award for Veterinary Research Excellence honors a faculty member or graduate student whose research is related to veterinary medicine and has a promise of national recognition. Peers nominate the recipient for the honor, which includes a plaque and $1,000 cash award. John Middleton, DVM, PhD, a professor of large animal internal medicine, was this year’s recipient.

Middleton was recognized for his mastitis research. He received the American Dairy Science Association West Agro Award for Outstanding Contributions to Milk Quality Research in 2009 and the 2015 National Mastitis Council Distinguished Service Award. His MU trainees have received seven Phi Zeta research awards and three American College of Veterinary Internal Medicine Resident Research Awards. He also has 74 peer-reviewed publications, has authored five book chapters and is credited with 157 abstract proceedings.

The second award supported by Zoetis Animal Health was the Distinguished Veterinary Teaching Award. The 2015 graduating class, which selects the recipient of the plaque and $1,000, awarded Frappier his second honor of the night. Frappier joined the CVM in 1988. He teaches veterinary microanatomy, large animal gross anatomy and veterinary neuroscience. Olson noted that the honoree is no stranger to teaching accolades, having previously won a number of Outstanding Teaching Awards from the Student Chapter of the American Veterinary Medicine Association while at MU and at The Ohio State University, numerous Golden Aesculapius Teaching Awards, a Gold Chalk Award from the MU Graduate Professional Council, the CVM Dean’s Impact Award in 1998, and the William T. Kemper Fellowship for Teaching Excellence in 2001.

The 2015 Honors Banquet took place at the Courtyard by Marriott in Columbia.

See the complete list of 2015 award winners.

Return to News and Events home

College of Veterinary Medicine
W-203 Veterinary Medicine Building
Columbia, MO 65211
Phone: (573) 882-3554
Like us on Facebook
©2005 Curators of the University of Missouri
DMCA and other copyright information.
an equal opportunity/ADA institution

Last Update: February 29, 2012