University of Missouri-Columbia College of Veterinary Medicines

| Calendars | Contact | News & Events

Prospective StudentsCurrent StudentsAlumni and FriendsFaculty and StaffVeterinarians

About the College


Teaching & Research

Giving to Vet Med

Veterinary Health Center

Veterinary Medical Diagnostic Laboratory (VMDL)

CVM Employment

Zalk Veterinary Medical Library

CVM Course Materials




MVMA Honors CVM’s Associate Dean
of Student and Alumni Affairs

Dr. Ron Cott, MU College of Veterinary Medicine associate dean of Student and Alumni Affairs and director of Development (center), accepts the Dr. Robert E. Hertzog Veterinary Leadership Award from Dr. Robert Hertzog (left) and Dr. Clark Fobian of the AVMA during the Missouri Veterinary Medical Association’s 118th Annual Convention, held Jan. 29-31. 2010, in St. Charles, Mo.

Dr. Robert Kahrs, retired MU CVM dean, who was the driving force in creating the CVM’s Mule Team, delivers the keynote address during the MVMA convention.

Dr. Neil C. Olson, MU College of Veterinary Medicine dean, discusses prospects for the college’s future and the current budget situation during a breakfast the college hosted Jan. 31, 2010, at the MVMA convention.

Dr. John DeGarmo (right) presents the MVMA Veterinarian of the Year Award to Dr. Allen G. Robinson.

MU CVM student Nick Perez participated in the speed networking session that allowed students to meet with veterinarians to learn about future job prospects.

More than 500 veterinarians, veterinary technicians, practice staff and veterinary students attended the Missouri Veterinary Medical Association’s 118th Annual Convention Jan. 29-31 at the St. Charles Convention Center, St. Charles, Mo.

The convention culminated with the awards banquet held Jan. 30. Dr. Ron Cott, MU DVM ’73, who is the MU College of Veterinary Medicine associate dean of Student and Alumni Affairs and director of Development, was honored with the Robert E. Hertzog Award. The award is presented to an MVMA member who shows outstanding vision, leadership and personal sacrifice for the betterment of the veterinary profession in Missouri, and the United States.

Dr. Robert “Bud” Hertzog, MU DVM ’56 was on hand to present his namesake award to Cott. Cott is a past president of the association and held many committee positions in his 32 years of service to the MVMA. He is also a past AVMA delegate.

Other awards included:

Veterinarian of the Year, presented to Dr. Allen G. Robinson, MU DVM ’66. Robinson is the owner and practitioner at Palmyra Veterinary Clinic in Palmyra, Mo. Dr. John DeGarmo, MU DVM ’66, presented Dr. Robinson with the award. The MVMA Board of Directors selects the Veterinarian of the Year based on the candidate’s contributions to their community, their state, and to people whose lives they have touched.

Robinson has served as MVMA Board of Directors chairman, president, president-elect, and vice president. He is a member of the American Veterinary Medical Association, American Association of Equine Practitioners, American Paint Horse Association and Missouri Quarter Horse Association. He and his wife, Linda, are both active in several community organizations including the Northeast Missouri Shrine, 4-H, FFA, Marion County Fair and Palmyra School District. They have five children.

The President’s Award, given to an individual instrumental to the MVMA president’s efforts to advance the veterinary profession for the betterment of animal health in the state, presented to Kim C. Ralston of Jefferson City, Mo. Dr. Scott A. Fray, MU DVM ’91 of Boonville, MVMA Executive Board Chair, presented this year’s award to Ralston, who has worked for the Missouri Veterinary Medical Association as a communications specialist for the past 10 years.

The Distinguished Service Award, presented to Dr. Richard P. Schmidtke, MU DVM ’65, of Mexico, Mo. The Missouri Veterinary Medical Foundation chose Schmidtke for the honor, citing his dedication as a volunteer for more than 10 years and for helping to expand the foundation’s mission of public education and charitable giving to worthy organizations. He is also a past president and past board chair of the MVMA.

Honorary Membership Award of the Missouri Academy of Veterinary Practice, presented to Dr. Robert Kahrs. MAVP honorary members are individuals who have rendered distinguished or meritorious service to the veterinary profession. Kahrs, former dean of the MU College of Veterinary Medicine, received his DVM from Cornell University in 1954, later working at the college for 16 years. He served as dean of the MU College of Veterinary Medicine from 1982 to 1992. Wanting a mascot for the college, Kahrs created the MU Mule Team, working with Dr. Melvin Bradley to find a suitable pair of mule mascots. Hillda and Louise became the goodwill ambassadors to the college in 1984 and the tradition continues with the current pair, Tim and Terry, purchased in 2003. Kahrs delivered the convention’s keynote speech during the banquet, detailing his years at the CVM and the history of the MU Mule Team and how they came to be the college’s mascots.

The convention offered 60 continuing education lectures to participants. Students attending also had the opportunity to participate in speed networking, meeting with practitioners and learning and learning about their veterinary practices.

MVMA newly installed officers include:
Bruce P. Whittle – President, Trenton, Mo.
Scott A. Fray, DVM – Board Chairman, Boonville, Mo.
Dana K. Gillig, DVM – President-elect, Sedalia, Mo.
James K. Schuessler – Vice President, St. Louis, Mo.
Shelia L. Taylor, DVM – Secretary/Treasurer, Springfield, Mo.
Richard Antweiler serves as Executive Director

2009 Missouri Academy of Veterinary Practice officers include:
Christopher C. Morrow, DVM – President, Independence, Mo.
Mark Lux, DVM – President-elect – St. Louis, Mo.
Dr. William Shore – Vice President – St. Louis, Mo.
Richard Antweiler, Executive Secretary/Treasurer, Jefferson City, Mo.

2009 Missouri Veterinary Medical Foundation officers include:
V.M. “Mac” Wilt, DVM – Board Chairman, Paris, Mo.
William J. Shore, DVM – Vice Board Chairman, St. Louis, Mo.
Ann White – Secretary/Treasurer, Perryville, Mo.
James Howard, DVM – Museum Director, Jefferson City, Mo.

Return to News and Events home

College of Veterinary Medicine
W-203 Veterinary Medicine Building
Columbia, MO 65211
Phone: (573) 882-3554
Like us on Facebook
©2005 Curators of the University of Missouri
DMCA and other copyright information.
an equal opportunity/ADA institution

Last Update: February 29, 2012