University of Missouri-Columbia College of Veterinary Medicines

| Calendars | Contact | News & Events

Prospective StudentsCurrent StudentsAlumni and FriendsFaculty and StaffVeterinarians

About the College


Teaching & Research

Giving to Vet Med

Veterinary Health Center

Veterinary Medical Diagnostic Laboratory (VMDL)

CVM Employment

Zalk Veterinary Medical Library

CVM Course Materials




MVMA Honors Dean,
Other Members of CVM

2014 MVMA President David Prigel presents the President’s Award to CVM Dean Neil C. Olson.

Trenton Boyd, MU Distinguished Librarian Curator of the Medical and Veterinary Historical Collections, was honored with the Missouri Veterinary Medical Foundation’s Distinguished Service Award.

Retired CVM faculty member William Wolff was named Veterinarian of the Year at the MVMA Convention. He received his plaque from Bill Jones, DVM.

Other VMA activities included Speed Networking, organized by college's chapter of the Veterinary Business Management Association. The event allowed veterinary students to interview for jobs and preceptorships with practitioners.

A wet lab, held at the Mizzou Animal Cancer Care facility in Wentzville, allowed veterinarians to learn more about conducting an ultrasound of the abdomen from CVM Associate Professor of Radiology Jimmy Lattimer, DVM, MS.

Ron Brown, DVM, 2014 president Missouri Academy of Veterinary Practice, congratulates David Wilson, who was made an honorary member.

MU College of Veterinary Medicine Dean Neil C. Olson, DVM, PhD, was honored with the President’s Award during the Missouri Veterinary Medical Association annual convention held Jan. 22-25, 2015, in St. Charles, Missouri. During the awards banquet, outgoing MVMA President David Prigel, DVM, announced Olson as the recipient he selected for the President’s Award. The award is given each year to recognize an individual who was instrumental to the president’s efforts to advance the veterinary profession for the betterment of animal health in the state. Prigel thanked Olson for his efforts working with the organization, his responsiveness and his open communication in sharing the college’s priorities on issues.

Olson was one of several people with college ties recognized during the event. William A. Wolff, DVM, MS, of Columbia, Missouri, a retired CVM faculty member, received the organization’s Veterinarian of the Year Award. The award is given to an individual who has made outstanding contributions to community, state and the people whose lives they have touched. Wolff, who spent many years teaching and conducting research in foreign animal diseases and whose volunteer service includes serving as the director of the Missouri Volunteer Veterinary Corps and the chairman of the MVMA Emergency Management and Public Health Committee, was also honored when the MVMA Volunteerism Award was renamed the William A. Wolff Volunteerism Award. The 2015 recipient of the renamed award was Charles Massengill, DVM, of California, Missouri.

MU Distinguished Librarian Curator of the Medical and Veterinary Historical Collections C. Trenton Boyd received the Missouri Veterinary Medical Foundation’s Distinguished Service Award. Clark Fobian, DVM, a member of the CVM Class of 1977 and past president of the American Veterinary Medical Association, received the Robert E. Hertzog Leadership Award.

Ron Cott, DVM, CVM associate dean of Student and Alumni Affairs and director of Advancement, and William Fales, MS, PhD, a professor of bacteriology, infectious disease and microbiology in the Department of Veterinary Pathobiology, were inducted as new Lifetime Members.

During a presentation earlier in the day, the Missouri Academy of Veterinary Practice honored David Wilson, DVM, MS, director of the MU Veterinary Medical Teaching Hospital, as its MAVP Honorary Member.

College faculty were also active giving educational presentations throughout the conference. Leading continuing education lectures were Joan Coates, DVM, MS, professor of veterinary neurology and neurosurgery; Tim Evans, DVM, MS, PhD, associate professor of toxicology; Stephanie Gilliam, RVT, CCRP, a neurology and neurosurgery technician who works in canine rehabilitation; Elizabeth Giuliano, DVM, MS, professor of veterinary ophthalmology; F.A. (Tony) Mann, DVM, MS, professor and director of small animal surgery and emergency and critical care; Daniela Mauler, DVM, assistant teaching professor of neurology and neurosurgery; Richard Meadows, DVM, Curators’ Distinguished Teaching Professor and director of the community practice section; Dennis O’Brien, DVM, MS, PhD, professor and Chancellor’s Chair in Comparative Neurology; Shannon Reed, DVM, MS, assistant teaching professor of equine surgery and lameness; and David Wilson, DVM, MS, professor of equine surgery and VMTH director.

To view more images from the convention, please go to our Facebook page.

Return to News and Events home

College of Veterinary Medicine
W-203 Veterinary Medicine Building
Columbia, MO 65211
Phone: (573) 882-3554
Like us on Facebook
©2005 Curators of the University of Missouri
DMCA and other copyright information.
an equal opportunity/ADA institution

Last Update: February 29, 2012