Promotion and Tenure (Tenure Track) Committee (elected by faculty)

The responsibilities of the Promotion and Tenure (Tenure Track) Committee are as follows:

  1. Evaluating promotion and/or tenure requests that have reached the college level from each department.
  2. Follow the procedures and mandates outlined by the University of Missouri and the Dean when evaluating faculty members.

Committee makeup: Four full-time, tenured faculty will serve on this committee for a term of three years each. Members of departmental promotion and tenure committees are not eligible for this committee. At least three of the members should be at the rank of Professor. Members of the Committee are not eligible to vote on a dossier at the Departmental level. The Departments of Biomedical Sciences, Veterinary Medicine & Surgery, and Veterinary Pathobiology shall each nominate two members from their faculty, one of whom will be elected by the general faculty to represent the department. Individuals placing second in the voting will serve as the alternate member. Each department will also nominate a member for an at-large spot on the committee. The at-large member and alternate will be elected by a vote of the general faculty. A Chair is elected by the committee each year when they meet to discuss applications.

Meetings and Minutes: The committee will meet yearly according to the timeline for dossier evaluation laid out in the Provost’s Call Letter for that year. Due to the confidentiality of the meetings, minutes will not be taken.

Current Members

MembershipDepartmentAreaTerm Expires
Dr. Charles Brown Dr. Craig Franklin (ALT)Vet Pathobiology9/30/2025
Dr. Leslie Lyons (CHAIR) Dr. Tony Mann (ALT)Vet Med & Surgery9/30/2024
Dr. Frank BoothBiomedical Sciences9/30/2024
Dr. Kei Kuroki Dr. Jeff Mitchell (ALT)VMDL9/30/2025